PDA

View Full Version : Streaks in Poker and how you play them - an observation

Webster
12-29-2003, 05:22 PM
The subject came up with a friend about "when do you quit for a night".

I said I stop when I start havign a bad streak. Now - of course we all know that cards have no memory (unlike BJ) and you are never IN a streak, a streak is always just ending and a new one is starting.

Well - anyway - he says my quiting when things turn bad is illogical AND - when I posted a question here basically you all said so also.

HOWEVER - how many of you have stopped during a rush! NO! can't stop when the cards are hitting you in the face can you!

hmmmmmm! seems there is a double standard working here!

jedi
12-29-2003, 05:26 PM
While I'm far from an expert, I think the texture of the table and your emotional state tell you more than the cards do. If I'm on a bad streak, I'll quit not because the cards are running bad, but because I know I'm more prone to make mistakes in an effort to get unstuck. That just leads to more losses and it's a bad tilt cycle. Of course, if I know that I can outplay these players, I'll just buy-in again and try to turn a profit. Of course, I'll have to evaluate my emotional state as well.

When a game is going good, it'll be less likely that you'll quit. Even if it's just a good run of cards, your table image might be changed positively, and you might be able to win some pots just from table image than if you had a bad image from running bad.

Hung
12-29-2003, 05:33 PM
Many of my pokerfriends don't believe in luck. I do. I believe in luck and bad luck. There're days you can't beat anyone and there're other days when you can take Doyle, Nguyen, Phil, Chan etc all together. Up and downs.
The most important thing in poker is making a lot of money when you're having luck and losing a minimum of money when you're having bad luck. That's what I think about poker and I'll always keep that in mind.
Bad luck: change gear to 1 (tight)