PDA

View Full Version : No Limit help

IaHawk
07-05-2003, 02:49 AM
I am fairly new to poker in general and what i do know comes from limit based holdem books. About the only thing i know about no limit is from watching the WSOP, WPO, and WPT tapes that i have collected over the past year.

I was wondering if anyone could suggest some good books, articles or anything at all that would help me with my no limit game.

I play in a weekly no limit tourney style home game and have been playing the no limit sit and gos on paradise for the past week or so. I am doing ok in both but would like to learn more about no limit strategy. Thanks in advance!

IaHawk19

Justaloser
07-05-2003, 09:52 AM
The best advice I can give you is that it's better to make a big bet than call a big bet.

Never call a big bet (even if you're pretty sure he's bluffing), unless you've got the best hand.

FeliciaLee
07-05-2003, 11:34 AM
I would check out the books/software section of the forum. You will be able search the archives, as well as ask this same question there and get a lot of good advice.

As far as the books I have read, and felt that I learned quite a bit from, my first pick would have to be Championship Pot Limit and No Limit Hold'em by TJ Cloutier and Tom McEvoy.

There is a lot of controversy surrounding this book and it's worth, I know that, so flamers, save your wrists from carpal tunnel. /forums/images/icons/wink.gif

I also have Tournament Poker for Advanced Players by David Sklansky, and I love all of the Sklansky books because they make me think, think, think and dig deeper.

I have heard that the NLPL book by Ciaffione is excellent, but have not purchased it yet, although I have read excerpts.