PDA

View Full Version : Running Ice Cold. Is This A Normal Downswing or Has The Plane Crashed?

FakeKramer
09-26-2005, 04:43 PM
About 2 weeks ago I started playing 20 $20 SNGs per day. I truly believe I am a solid player. After 100 SNGs I had an ROI of 15% and honestly thought this could even be a little higher (in other words, I felt a bit on the side of unlucky during my first 100).

Now I am 200 SNGs in and everything has fallen off the charts. My ROI is all the way down to 5%. I'm down 15 buyins over my last 50 tournaments.

I really don't think this is happening because I'm "bad". Cards are just ice cold. I'm not going to say I don't have leaks, because I do, and they are plenty in number, but I really think 15% should be totally sustainable for me at this level.

Anyway, my question is, with these statistics, is it possible that my super long-term ROI truly is 15% and that I'm just going through a bad streak right now, or are there major problems and 5% is a lot more accurate of an ROI for me.

I realize you would need to know a lot more about how I play and how good I am in order to be able to accuratly answer this question, but see if you can't give me a decent reply off of the above knowledge. I basically want to know if I should stick with this thing, or throw in the towel.

RikaKazak
09-26-2005, 04:49 PM
dude, no one can give you a solid answer or even guess, you might be a losing player for all anyone knows and am actually on an upswing. Once you reach 1K's SNG's then hit me up and we can go over your stats.

psyduck
09-26-2005, 04:51 PM
Very easy to be running badly over just 200 SNGs. I think if you've established yourself over a good amount of 10+1s (like 20% over 1K or something) then just play out 1K 20+2s as well and then post about it.

SippinSoma
09-26-2005, 04:54 PM
Don't throw the towel in. Keep playing. Get use to the ups and downs of long-term poker. You'll be fine.

citanul
09-26-2005, 04:56 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Now I am 200 SNGs in

[/ QUOTE ]