PDA

View Full Version : Aces Cracked!

NutFlop
05-07-2003, 01:32 PM
I'm a newb to this forum and holdem too for that matter. I'm wondering if I played this correctly though.

Yesterday, at the Palms, 2/4 game. I play pretty tight because I'm not confident in my skills yet. I get red Aces UTG+1. UTG limps, I raise, call, fold, call, rest fold to BB who calls, UTG calls.

Flop comes J /forums/images/icons/club.gif 8 /forums/images/icons/heart.gif 5 /forums/images/icons/diamond.gif

BB checks, UTG checks, I bet, fold, call, BB and UTG fold. Just me and the MP player who seems to be a regular and must have noticed my tight play by now.

Turn comes J /forums/images/icons/diamond.gif

I bet, he raises, I reraise, he calls.

River comes 3 /forums/images/icons/spade.gif

His action on the turn scared me, so I checked, he bet and I called to see his J /forums/images/icons/spade.gif 6 /forums/images/icons/spade.gif .

Bummer. Advice?
Thank you

RockLobster
05-07-2003, 01:45 PM
Hi Nut--

The only surprise is that he didn't make it 4-bets on the turn. If I'm him, I'm thinking that you raised pre-flop, then bet the flop, so you have overcards or a big pair. Once the 2nd jack hits the turn (and I'm holding one), I can't see any hand that you have that beats mine. So I would go 4+ bets heads-up on the turn.

Bummer. Advice?

You played fine... as far as advice goes, continue to post questionable hands and read 2+2 daily. /forums/images/icons/grin.gif

Ulysses
05-07-2003, 01:47 PM
What did you think he had when he raised the turn after calling the flop?

NutFlop
05-07-2003, 01:51 PM
I thought he had a jack, I thought it was worth seeing the river though.

hutz
05-07-2003, 01:59 PM
If you put him on a J, why did you 3-bet the turn? You're lucky he didn't pop you again on the turn!

tekksan
05-07-2003, 02:09 PM