PDA

View Full Version : What to do on a large pot on the button?

slavic
05-06-2003, 05:50 PM
Hi there, just a note I'm new to Hold'em and have enjoyed the heck out of the online games because of their speed of play. Today on paradise I got my head handed to me on a large pot that I just couldn't get myself out of. Looking for a bit of advice.
Loose somewhat agressive online game.
I'm on the button with K /forums/images/icons/club.gif Q /forums/images/icons/heart.gif
UTG limps, fold, limp, limp, limp, Raise, fold, I call, sb calls, BB calls, everyone else calls. (16SB in the pot)
Flop[J /forums/images/icons/club.gif 3 /forums/images/icons/heart.gif 6 /forums/images/icons/heart.gif ]
Ok not perfect but plenty of outs, 2 overcards, backdoor flush and straight

SB bets, bb calls, fold, fold, call, raise, I call, everyone calls out (10 SB pot is now 26sb)

Turn is [J /forums/images/icons/club.gif 3 /forums/images/icons/heart.gif 6 /forums/images/icons/heart.gif ][T /forums/images/icons/club.gif ]
ok My flush is gone straight is good still two overcards.
Everyone checks to me I bet, BB call, call, call, Raise (from 1 off the button) all call out.
(8 BB pot at 8Bb plus 26 SB)

OK time for some help from the river.
[J /forums/images/icons/club.gif 3 /forums/images/icons/heart.gif 6 /forums/images/icons/heart.gif T /forums/images/icons/club.gif ][J /forums/images/icons/diamond.gif ]
/forums/images/icons/frown.gif oh what to do, well another bet at the pot can't hurt.

BB folds, call, call

other two hands [K /forums/images/icons/heart.gif T /forums/images/icons/spade.gif ] and [J /forums/images/icons/spade.gif 7 /forums/images/icons/spade.gif ]

Ok I knew I was beat but I couldn't find a way to release the hand. Anyone know a solution (other than give up the game)? Opinions?

Bob T.
05-06-2003, 07:16 PM
Preflop, your call is loose, but not out of the question given the 8 way action. I would worry about being dominated by the preflop raiser.