PDA

View Full Version : Getting Back in the Game

NPoling
09-06-2005, 11:44 PM
so, I've been a pretty steady online player for the past year or so. I started playing poker with $30 I'd won on a bet, and after playing some small home games for awhile had turned that $30 into $100, which I then put half of into Paradise Poker. More home game wins and some solid hours online for about 6 months eventually turned that into about $4,000, and I read everything I could about the game. At my height I was a very solid player, I played a relatively tight game, but played very agressively and occasionally had to caution myself because I was getting too LAG. For a while I cooled things down for a bit, then rebought for $100 on Paradise, which I was able to turn into a $1000 in a single day, which I then proceeded to blow at blackjack in a matter of minutes, after taking a bad beat in $1-2 no limit.

It was then I realized that I have an issue with gambling. I took a couple months off, but since then the home games I've played in I've been a losing player. (this is a very competetive home game, some extremely solid players) I rebought online and played very solid poker, but just kept bleeding cash. I wasn't getting good value on my made hands, and the plays I'd run would result in my opponents making brilliant calls. I wasn't on tilt, I wasn't making bad plays, I was just losing money. My stake only lasted a few days, and while I'm still way ahead for the past 6 months, I'm really feeling a total lack of confidence.. I used to love playing, and poker was definitely a major time committment for me. I have a great knowledge of no limit, and while right now I never feel like I want to play again, I hate the idea of walking away from something I used to be so succesful at.