PDA

View Full Version : Homeland Security: What a Joke!

Mark Heide
02-12-2003, 03:40 AM
I had a good laugh today. When I heard that the government recommended buying duct tape and plastic sheets to protect ourselves from chemical and biological warfare. Are they serious???? /forums/images/icons/laugh.gif

Rick Nebiolo
02-12-2003, 04:40 AM
I'm not an expert but this might have more value protecting against nuclear or atomic fallout and that subject is just too scary for the government to mention. Let's say a "small" a-bomb gets snuck into an American city and is set off by terroists. Most in the suburbs would survive the blast but exposure to fallout is a serious concern. Most of that fallout is in the forum of dust. Duct tape and plastic would be a big help here.

I'd hate to handicap this one but I wouldn't bet against it.

Regards,

Rick

John Cole
02-12-2003, 06:11 AM
I just couldn't get Red Green, master of duct tape, out of my mind: "Remember, guys, if they don't find you handsome, they can still find you handy."

John

MMMMMM
02-12-2003, 09:57 AM
If a crop-dusting plane dispersed biological or chemical toxins over your area, wouldn't it make sense to seal your windows and doors well around the edges?

Zeno
02-12-2003, 04:01 PM
Tape, plastic application etc may help in slowing down the breathing in of dust or other particles that are potentially radioactive (internal exposure). This would help in the case of alpha radiation most but much less so or not at all for external exposure to gamma, beta, or x-ray type radiation. And means nothing to the mother of all radioactivity - Neutrons.

It is a bit of a joke but it makes people feel less helpless. That there is something, however small, that can be done. Hence, it is a morale booster to some people.

-Zeno

brad
02-12-2003, 04:05 PM