View Full Version : Call or fold?

Kaeser
06-15-2005, 10:54 AM
10+1 Poker Stars SnG

BB (t3400)
UTG (t1100)
Button (t5200)
Hero (t4600)

Preflop: Hero is SB with 3/images/graemlins/club.gif 7/images/graemlins/club.gif
2 folds , <font color="red"> </font> Hero raises to t300, BB raises t450, <font color="black"> </font> Hero calls.

Flop: 5/images/graemlins/club.gif,6/images/graemlins/club.gif,9/images/graemlins/spade.gif
<font color="red"> </font> Hero bets t450, BB raises t2950 all-in, <font color="black"> </font> Hero calls.

Opponent was tight weak player who often folded to a raise pre-flop and to any bet post flop unless he hit.

When he min-raised pre-flop I put him on a pp 8's or higher or possibly AK,AQ. When he raised me on the flop I thought it most likely that he had an overpair.

Do you agree with calling here? I just started playing tournaments and I'm not sure if I should have folded here and waited for the money.

the_joker
06-15-2005, 10:57 AM
I say fold pre flop and after the flop, this could be tight weak though.

pergesu
06-15-2005, 10:58 AM
I'm not sure why this is a question. You seemed to answer it in your post.

[ QUOTE ]
Opponent was tight weak player who often folded to a raise pre-flop and to any bet post flop unless he hit.

[/ QUOTE ]

Just to be clear: Judging from your comments and the action, it's safe to assume that he hit. You've got a nice sized stack and are still in the hunt for first. No need to gamble here. It's not a "wait for the money" fold (which you should never do, btw. The key to bubble play is aggression). It's just a smart fold cause you have a lot of chips and are behind, by your own reasoning.

pergesu
06-15-2005, 11:01 AM
[ QUOTE ]
I say fold pre flop and after the flop, this could be tight weak though.

[/ QUOTE ]
That's probably a good idea. He has a lot of chips compared to the blinds, he's not in trouble at all.