PDA

View Full Version : What type of business should I buy/start?

brick
04-11-2005, 05:26 PM
I've been working a computer desk job for 3 years and need change. I have decent people skills. Great planning and financial management skills. Good computer skills. Zero experience running my own business.

The business I choose should be something that can be imporved and then sold or have good long term growth potential (replication of stores, etc).

I can proably come up with 40k. Will take business loans as needed.

-Start small assisted care home
-Get a loan and buy a small manufacturing type company
-Buy a small business ($1 store, etc) with a lot of revenue (but not much profit) and try to increase the margins.
-Start a unique business that is likely to fail, but might make it big.
-Buy a resturant or bar and try to get a permit for poker tables.

or ???

any ideas, insight, stories about your expereince?

thanks for the help

eric5148
04-11-2005, 07:30 PM
There was a 2+2er who had an online store that accepted Neteller payments, and it was very popular. He sold mainly gift certificates and a few poker books. A few months ago he closed it down for some reason.

I don't know anything about running a business, but I think if you did something like this, it would be very succesful. 2+2ers alone would probably keep you in business. Even more so if you added many different types of gambling related stuff (poker books, software, chips, etc.).

GeorgeF
04-11-2005, 08:15 PM
-Start small assisted care home
My guess is you need alot of credentials, licenses, ect.. BTW, can you evict granny if she can't pay anymore.

-Get a loan and buy a small manufacturing type company
Where in China, I can't imagine that being a good choice out of the box. Did you notice that the auto industry is going bankrupt in the US. Your Canadian right?

-Buy a small business ($1 store, etc) with a lot of revenue (but not much profit) and try to increase the margins.