PDA

View Full Version : Well that losing streak everybody said would come... is here

MSUcougar
02-04-2005, 03:25 AM
I've been playing $30+3's on party for about 8 months now, but only purchased Pokertracker 3 weeks ago. In the past 3 weeks I have played just over 200 tourneys, and I was pleased to see a 45% ITM and 36% ROI. I always play 2-3 tables at a time.

Tonight I set down to play some SNG's like usual and I just now finished 13 in a row out of the money (7 earlier, took a break, 6 more just now). A couple of the all in hands I experienced:

AK vs. AQ, Q on river
99 vs. 44, 4 on flop
QQ vs. A7 vs. 99, wheel on river
AQ vs. 66, Q on flop, 6 on river
73 in BB, flop 753, of course another guy had 64.

and not to mention losing every single coinflip possible.

My ego and ROI are hurting at the moment /images/graemlins/blush.gif

I don't think I played any differently tonight than normal, just got unlucky a few times. Any advice on handling bad losing streaks?

EDIT: by the way, I know this is just part of the normal fluctuation associated with playing poker... and I know I haven't played nearly enough tourneys to really quantify my ITM/ROI... I just sorta wanted to vent after a painful evening /images/graemlins/blush.gif

MagnoliasFM
02-04-2005, 03:59 AM
Don't worry, stuff like that happens. As long as you don't go on tilt, it's just a short-term bump in the road.

Some things that I like to do to keep myself from getting frustrated or tilty when I start running bad like that are:
- Take a shower
- Sleep
- Do homework
- Read a book
- Play the guitar
- Pretend like I have a girlfriend who cares about how badly my cards are running, a.k.a. talking to myself on the phone