PDA

View Full Version : Complete Beginner...

Caruso329
01-22-2005, 04:21 AM
Ok, I have already used the search function to no avail. I am interested in investing when my poker bankroll becomes large enough to allow it. I would like to take the time until them to start studying everything I can about the market.

Please list any recommended books, websites, etc. and how much you recommend it.

I know you guys get a lot of these posts, and if I overlooked something while searching please link me. I searched for "beginner", "starting", "new", "books" (which only came up with day trading), and "websites". Sorry for being a newb. Cheers!

MarkL444
01-22-2005, 05:05 AM
Im in the exact same boat as you. Hoping to start getting my feet wet in a few months. I just ordered The Intelligent Investor. Ill let ya know how that goes or if I find anything else.

adios
01-22-2005, 08:40 AM
I would start with something like "A Random Walk Down Wall Street" because that book at least provides some insight into ideas of risk aversion and market effeciency. Look up FatOtt's posts in this forum. He had a post that spelled out the types of books to read that would be very useful. I'll add that a basic knowledge of how securities are valued is essential IMO FWIW.

RunDownHouse
01-22-2005, 09:53 AM
[ QUOTE ]
I'll add that a basic knowledge of how securities are valued is essential IMO FWIW.

[/ QUOTE ]

For that grab Graham's The Intelligent Investor (which I'm sure everyone here has heard about) and also Expectations Investing by Rappaport and Mauboussin (which I'm sure very few here have read). Expectations Investing is probably the best book out there on how stocks are valued and what those values mean in the market.

Caruso329
01-22-2005, 12:40 PM
Thanks everyone, I'll try to grab those books as soon as I can. Also will look up those posts.

parttimepro
01-22-2005, 02:33 PM