PDA

View Full Version : Some thoughts on Hoops betting - too long!

anatta
01-20-2005, 05:02 AM
For the past year, I am trying to make it as a poker pro, I have no kids or expenses and my condo is paid for and so its going okay, not great. I bet sports for fun, maybe $110 on a game if I like it. I played basketball, and I have always loved the NBA.

So basically I don't really know [censored] regarding hoops action. That said, IMO, I think "fan money" and anticipating "pubic (mis)perception" is a big factor in picking NBA sides.

Last Summer during the NBA Championships, like most posters here, I was all over the Pistons. I got them after game two to win it all when they were huge dogs. I took them second half of game two after Malone was hurt, and took them every game after.

I think that one of the reasons that the Pistons were huge dogs, even after they outplayed the Lakers twice and Malone was done, is that the action on the Lakers was not based on logic. It was based on past performance, "mystique". Fisher hit that shot with .02 vs Spurs, Kobe nailed that 3 pointer to win game 2, all those rings, Phil Jackson, etc... But anyone watching the games could see what we all saw here, the emperor had no clothes!

Looking at fan money or where the pubics money is going is of course only one factor. However, because there are a relatively small amount of teams, I think its difficult in the NBA to outsmart the books. If you are really quick and sharp and line shop early and do all that, then yes, I think value can be had. But I don't think I can or want to do that. This differs from college hoops where there are hundreds of teams you can bet on. It is really possible, I imagine, to research a small conference, like the Patriot, and know more about James Madison v. Richmond then the books. But what kinda fun is that?