PDA

View Full Version : Mutiny

ericd
10-20-2004, 07:02 AM
I was wondering why the story of the supply unit refusing to obey orders has died down. I think there is a good chance the military PR department is trying to come up with a way to soften the blow to the public when they announce they all those involved with be charged with Mutiny.

I'm no lawyer but I've read and reread Article 94 of the UCMJ (http://usmilitary.about.com/library/milinfo/mcm/bl94.htm)

I don't know if irony is the right word but those in the group who figured there was safety in numbers may come to rue that decision.

hutz
10-20-2004, 09:14 AM
I am a lawyer (don't hold it against me) but I haven't read the UCMJ. I do know one thing, though -- they won't be charged with mutiny.

P.S. Where's Wrong Forum Man?

ericd
10-20-2004, 09:41 AM
The UCMJ seems pretty clear to my untrained eye. But, I will defer to your judgement.

As to the wrong forum, I see I screwed up. I only read the sub-topic heading and not the topic. Sorry, I'll get it right the next time.

drewjustdrew
10-20-2004, 09:41 AM
[ QUOTE ]
P.S. Where's Wrong Forum Man?

[/ QUOTE ]

Let me step in:

Wrong forum, man!

hutz
10-20-2004, 09:47 AM
Unless they were on a ship in the desert, they won't be charged with mutiny.

thomastem
10-20-2004, 12:10 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I am a lawyer

[/ QUOTE ]

Shocking.

snakehead
10-20-2004, 12:41 PM
sigh...

PokerNoob
10-20-2004, 12:52 PM
I think its going to hinge on whether the order was lawful. It seems pretty negligent to me to put fuel type A into trucks that just hauled fuel type B without using the proper procedures to purge the tanks or whatever. I just can not imagine the breakdown in communication that must have occured in the chain of command for this to happen. It sounds like the work of some dumbass junior officer that the senior noncoms couldn't end run. I really think we will probably never hear about this again, and some officer careers are over.

hutz
10-20-2004, 01:41 PM
[ QUOTE ]