Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Computer Technical Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-02-2005, 06:04 PM
ZBTHorton ZBTHorton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 56
Default Serial ATA150 HDD?

Hey guys,

I have a pretty powerful PC:

2.8 Ghz P4
1 gig ram
256MB Vid Card
100GB 7200 RPM ATA100 HDD

I was thinking of buying a SATA150 card and a Raptor 10000RPM drive just for PT, PokerOffice, and Poker Clients. Hoping it would improve performance, because I tend to lag when I am super multi-tabling, chatting on AIM, running WinAmp, and posting on 2p2.

Do you think this would help?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-02-2005, 06:13 PM
astroglide astroglide is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: download an irc client at www.hydrairc.com (freeware not spyware), connect to irc.efnet.net, and join the channel #twoplustwo to chat live with other 2+2 posters
Posts: 2,858
Default Re: Serial ATA150 HDD?

it's one of the more reasonable upgrades you can make for applications that are io-bound. poker tables, instant messengers, mp3 players, and web browsers are not notable in this regard, but pokertracker and its heads up displays have extensive disk access.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-2005, 06:18 PM
ZBTHorton ZBTHorton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 56
Default Re: Serial ATA150 HDD?

Sweet.

PokerOffice is the main program that causes the lag. So I think it'd be worth the 150 or so to do it.

Although, I guess since I have 0 ability to fathom or properly spend money anymore, it really doesn't matter.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-02-2005, 06:25 PM
ZBTHorton ZBTHorton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 56
Default Re: Serial ATA150 HDD?

Wait, what about getting a SCSI card and getting a 15000RPM drive??
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-02-2005, 06:34 PM
astroglide astroglide is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: download an irc client at www.hydrairc.com (freeware not spyware), connect to irc.efnet.net, and join the channel #twoplustwo to chat live with other 2+2 posters
Posts: 2,858
Default Re: Serial ATA150 HDD?

a fujitsu mau3073n costs about $370 by itself and it would be another $100-$150 for an lsi logic/adaptec scsi hba...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-02-2005, 07:23 PM
phil_ivey_fan phil_ivey_fan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 181
Default Re: Serial ATA150 HDD?

[ QUOTE ]
Hey guys,

I have a pretty powerful PC:

2.8 Ghz P4
1 gig ram
256MB Vid Card
100GB 7200 RPM ATA100 HDD

I was thinking of buying a SATA150 card and a Raptor 10000RPM drive just for PT, PokerOffice, and Poker Clients. Hoping it would improve performance, because I tend to lag when I am super multi-tabling, chatting on AIM, running WinAmp, and posting on 2p2.

Do you think this would help?

[/ QUOTE ]

Get another Gig of ram...its cheap and worth it for serious multi-tasking
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-02-2005, 07:40 PM
astroglide astroglide is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: download an irc client at www.hydrairc.com (freeware not spyware), connect to irc.efnet.net, and join the channel #twoplustwo to chat live with other 2+2 posters
Posts: 2,858
Default Re: Serial ATA150 HDD?

he can hit ctrl-shift-esc and look at 'peak commit charge' under the performance tab after using his computer regularly for a while without a reboot. unless it's over 1048044, he doesn't need any more memory.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-03-2005, 03:58 AM
ZBTHorton ZBTHorton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 56
Default Re: Serial ATA150 HDD?

[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]
Hey guys,

I have a pretty powerful PC:

2.8 Ghz P4
1 gig ram
256MB Vid Card
100GB 7200 RPM ATA100 HDD

I was thinking of buying a SATA150 card and a Raptor 10000RPM drive just for PT, PokerOffice, and Poker Clients. Hoping it would improve performance, because I tend to lag when I am super multi-tabling, chatting on AIM, running WinAmp, and posting on 2p2.

Do you think this would help?

[/ QUOTE ]

Get another Gig of ram...its cheap and worth it for serious multi-tasking

[/ QUOTE ]

My mobo only supports 1GB. So that upgrade would be a new mobo, and new RAM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.