Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Computer Technical Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2005, 11:44 AM
mosta mosta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 94
Default how do I shop for RAM?

I have a thinkpad A31P with 512 meg. pacific drops me, and I think in my case it has to do with ram (I started getting dropped last night when I opened a third site, along with everything else, and the system started dragging bad). so I think I should try running a gig. the machine has two slots, and I guess I just throw out the 2 modules that are in there now. on the IBM site they offer 512meg modules for $98 each. is IBM a good source? is that price competitive? their description is:

ThinkPad 512MB PC2700 CL2.5 NP DDR SDRAM SODIMM

I shopped RAM for my old 600e a few years ago (comp was old even then), and found a discount place online: oempcworld.com. I don't know if their stuff was refurb or generic or their own make (don't know anything about this stuff), but they seemed very professional and had some good reviews--But it never worked. maybe b/c my system was just too old. who knows. anyway, before I go back to them, I noticed someone on here emphasizing high quality RAM. is that a good source, or what would be? IBM? something else? thanks for any enlightenment.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-26-2005, 01:57 PM
smoore smoore is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 924
Default Re: how do I shop for RAM?

I use crucial.com RAM

you can also use mushkin or corsair and get high quality OEM RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-26-2005, 07:55 PM
mosta mosta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 94
Default Re: how do I shop for RAM?

cool, thanks. so I look and Crucial's price is higher than IBM's. is it better?

edit: also, what does OEM mean? "original equipment manufacturer"? so this is from the same manufacturer as what IBM sells in the box? is it refurb or used?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-26-2005, 09:04 PM
terrapin314 terrapin314 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Where the four winds blow...
Posts: 126
Default Re: how do I shop for RAM?

dealram
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-26-2005, 11:25 PM
NateDog NateDog is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 112
Default Re: how do I shop for RAM?

Crucial's is guaranteed to work. Nothing like plugging in a new stick, and not having it work cause your box is old and lame . . . . or is that just me before the media center?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-27-2005, 02:56 AM
mosta mosta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 94
Default Re: how do I shop for RAM?

some of the dealers match my system with PC2100, but IBM and other sites give it as PC133. they're not interchangeable are they?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.