Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Poker > Omaha High

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-05-2004, 07:26 PM
JTG51 JTG51 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 3,746
Default Is this play routine?

.50/1 PLO. The preflop raiser starts the hand with $40, SB has $39, and I have them both easily covered.

UTG folds. UTG+1 raises to $3. MP and LP call. I call on the button with 9 [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]8 [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]7 [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]6 [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]. SB calls and BB folds. Five to the flop.

Flop: A [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]7 [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]7 [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]

It's checked to me and I bet the pot, $15.20. Only the SB calls.

Turn: [A [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]7 [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]7 [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]] K [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]

He checks, I check.

River: [A [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]7 [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]7 [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]K [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]] 4 [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]

He goes all in for $20.80 and I fold.

Is this routine? Anything I should have done differently? Any other lines of play to consider?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-06-2004, 06:56 AM
sahaguje sahaguje is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Paris France
Posts: 10
Default Re: Is this play routine?

It is not routine, but I dont think it is a bad play. Anyway, I wont have played it that way.

Flop : Ok. Now of course, he has something to pay you with, but at these stakes, it can be a good ace, 2 spades... With a bad 7, he would certainly have bet or check raised, so he can have a FH, but I dont see him with better trips.

Turn : I am ok with your play, but only if you know what you are going to do on the river. If you think you will fold for a pot bet even if you made your FH, good play, maybe a little tight. If you think you want to induce a bluff, and pay a pot bet on the river whatever the river is, except maybe an A, very good play. But know if you think, if I make a FH I pay, if i miss I fold, this is very bad poker. SB either has you beaten already with a FH, or cannot beat you if a blank hits, like it happened on the river. With better trips, he would have bet or raised on the flop or the turn.

River : as I said, it all depends what you had in mind when you checked. If you can say that even if a 9 had fallen on the river, you would have folded, then it is OK. Tight, but OK.

Hope it helped. I hope you thought that, because your check on the turn really says "ok I am beaten, you can bet with confidence". Perfect situation to induce a bluff, or to escape a good hand that you think is beaten from the start.

See you

sahaguje
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-06-2004, 11:29 AM
Zag Zag is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 515
Default Re: Is this play routine?

[ QUOTE ]
Turn : I am ok with your play, but only if you know what you are going to do on the river. If you think you will fold for a pot bet even if you made your FH, good play, maybe a little tight. If you think you want to induce a bluff, and pay a pot bet on the river whatever the river is, except maybe an A, very good play. But know if you think, if I make a FH I pay, if i miss I fold, this is very bad poker. SB either has you beaten already with a FH, or cannot beat you if a blank hits, like it happened on the river. With better trips, he would have bet or raised on the flop or the turn.

[/ QUOTE ]

This was brilliant. In spite of the fact that I think I could teach you a bit about math and poker theory, I am sure you could teach me a lot more about poker.

My thinking, when reading the original post, was that the check-call on the flop was kind of scary. What could the other player have that he would check-call with? I liked the check behind on the turn and the fold on the river, but I am sure that I would have decided to call on the river if I had filled up. I hadn't thought about the fact that filling up on the river does not matter at all. Either he had a better full house than I can make, or he didn't and can't beat me.

Thanks for the food for thought.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-06-2004, 04:00 PM
JTG51 JTG51 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 3,746
Default Re: Is this play routine?

Either he had a better full house than I can make, or he didn't and can't beat me.

That's an interesting thought, but I'm not convinced that it's true. If he has a 7, he probably has me out kicked, and I don't think it's a sure thing that he would have bet the flop with a 7.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-06-2004, 04:04 PM
JTG51 JTG51 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 3,746
Default Re: Is this play routine?

I hope you thought that, because your check on the turn really says "ok I am beaten, you can bet with confidence". Perfect situation to induce a bluff, or to escape a good hand that you think is beaten from the start.

Yes, I realized that I could be inducing a bluff, but I decided on the flop that he probably had me beaten. However, I would have called if I made a full house. Don't you think it's at least possible that he has a 7 that has me out kicked but no full house? I thought the chance that he did, plus the chance that my hand was best anyway, would make calling a river bet if I filled up the correct play.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-07-2004, 04:39 AM
sahaguje sahaguje is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Paris France
Posts: 10
Default Re: Is this play routine?

[ QUOTE ]
I decided on the flop that he probably had me beaten. However, I would have called if I made a full house.

[/ QUOTE ]

This is your choice... And I dont think it is a bad one, since a lot of times, you will beat him. But I think 90% of this times you would have beaten him without filling your full house. I just cant imagine a players slowplaying a 7Q, 7J or 7T on a 77A flop with 2 spades, and a K turn. He acted very weak, so either he as a hand that does not mind giving not only 1, but 2 free cards, or he has very little and thinks you bluffed on the flop.

Anyway, I cant convince you, it is just a matter of how you play poker. But one important thing : in such a situation, when you are checked-called on the flop, then checked to again on the turn, it is ok to take a free card, but you always should have a made plan on the river. And many times, it should involve calling even with marginal hands, cause you are very likely to be bluffed by a good player, or folding with good ones, cause your feel you are already beaten and your opponent is slowplaying a monster.

See you

sahaguje
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-09-2004, 03:12 PM
dogsballs dogsballs is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 654
Default Re: Is this play routine?

[ QUOTE ]
Yes, I realized that I could be inducing a bluff, but I decided on the flop that he probably had me beaten. However, I would have called if I made a full house. Don't you think it's at least possible that he has a 7 that has me out kicked but no full house? I thought the chance that he did, plus the chance that my hand was best anyway, would make calling a river bet if I filled up the correct play.

[/ QUOTE ]


I agree. Pay off with the full house.

If I'm your opp and have Q7xx or J7xx, I go all-in on the river. (tho I would have bet the flop already)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.