Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Mid-, High-Stakes Pot- and No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-15-2005, 12:39 AM

Default your post-game routine

Hi,

I've been playing seriously for a few months now, but I have yet to develop a system for going over my hands. I noticed a while back, when KKF was considering selling his database, he mentioned having game notes on many (if not all?) of the big hands. To the top players--is there a systematic routine many of you follow? Also, how do you go about identifying leaks that don't show up in big hands (ie--I open too often with suited connectors, and play too predictably when I miss the flop. Nobody wants to read threads about this.)

Thanks
Old 11-15-2005, 12:53 AM

Default Re: your post-game routine

If I made a lot of money, I feel good that I escaped while ahead so much and I have a good laugh at such inferior poker players as my opponents. If I broke even, I blame it on cards not working out for me. If I lost money, I blame it on multiple bad beats or just cards not working out (missed flops, bluffs not working, etc.).

I rarely have an important hand that I have to think about--a lot of the time, decisions are fairly obvious or just a matter of percentages. This is all based on games where most of my opponents play straightforwardly (the regulars) or straightforwardly and poorly (the fish). I try to avoid tough games, although I'm being stupid/arrogant recently and sitting in them.
Old 11-15-2005, 01:32 AM

Thanks for the response.

I, too, enjoy having a laugh at my opponents when I take their money--they usually deserve a lot of the credit.

I know a lot of hands are standard, but I still have a hard time believing that I'm not making a mistake by letting all these hands go by without study. Maybe I should just play more? [img]/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
Old 11-15-2005, 03:05 AM