Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-16-2005, 02:08 PM

Default Need a little early level advice

I'm not a prolific SnG player and have mostly played the $11s on Party one at a time just striving to learn the game and hopefully become a winning player.

Tight early, loosen up later has been a workable strategy for me and I've found Aleo's guide very helpful. I have done ok over the 900+ games I've played since I started, enough to be ahead overall but with some pretty vicious downswings along the way.

One problem I often encounter with this strategy is that by level 4 I am (rather unsuprisingly) shortstacked usually with 500-700 chips. Although a steal or two can keep me alive for a little while I am to all intents and purposes in all-in or fold mode looking for that first double through which will give me a shot at an ITM finish.

Tight early on is fine but I have the distinct impression that I may be playing too tight. It is not uncommon for me to pass the first 3 levels without playing a hand (except from the blinds). As a result I feel that I am losing out on opportunities to accumulate chips in those first 3 levels.

I feel I need to get more involved early on but my mouse seems to have developed an strange affinity for the fold button.

I would really welcome advice on level 1-3 play so that when level 4 hits I have more options open to me other than double up or bust.
Old 10-16-2005, 02:11 PM

Default Re: Need a little early level advice

Well, it's possible that you're playing too tight early. If you're following Aleo's guide strictly, you are playing far too tight early.

But, one thing you must fight mentally, is that when you're short stacked late in the tourney, somewhat far from the money, you must be willing to toss aside the gap theory and call with more hands that give you a solid chance to double up.