Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Internet Gambling > Internet Gambling

Old 12-26-2005, 02:36 PM

Default gambling for a living

This is a question for those of you out there making a living, or at least steadily making profits playing on-line poker.

I'd like advice on the types of on-line NL Holdem games people are playing for a living. I've been playing on-line for one year, I've played about 200 games, and my winning percentage is just under 40%.

Given these facts, what tables/games should I play to build a bank roll?

Sit-n-Go single tables? Multi-table tourneys? What buy-in levels do you typically play?

From my experience, the $30 and $50 single table sit-n-go tables are a good investment for me in the long run because of the relatively low investment risk per game and high enough payoff.

Thanks!
Old 12-26-2005, 02:39 PM

Default Re: gambling for a living

I do it for a living, play 5/10 NL 6 max on pp, I would start SMALL and move up if I was you, I prefer NL to limit cause of the different skill set involves fit me more.
Old 12-26-2005, 03:17 PM

[ QUOTE ]
I've played about 200 games

[/ QUOTE ]

Why only 200 games if you are using poker and living in the same sentence?

Keep playing and you should be able to get a better grip on what fits you best.
Old 12-26-2005, 05:02 PM

I remember thinking I was god's gift to poker too when I first started...

*waiting for somebody to take the ridiculously easy set-up I just offered*
Old 12-26-2005, 05:28 PM

well, if you want to do it for a living, here's my advice:

1) get pokertracker
2) I'd play at least 50,000 or so hands before you think about doing it as a living
3) look at your win rate, and your hourly rate, and figure out how much you'd have to play to pay all of your expenses.