Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Micro-Limits

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-16-2005, 12:00 PM
KaiShin KaiShin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: thanks for all the fish
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: 2-bets back to me - do I fold, call or cap this?

Easy call, but don't get attached to any A's that flop unless you pair your kicker.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-16-2005, 12:12 PM
Pov Pov is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 145
Default Re: 2-bets back to me - do I fold, call or cap this?

Thanks everyone for your help. It doesn't really matter to the real question, but for those curious I did in fact make the call planning to make at least two pair or get out. I did not get the flop I wanted:

4[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 3[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] A[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]

So I planned to check-fold, but then something interesting happened. The original raiser bet but the 3-better folded (a bad fold based upon the odds with KK or QQ I guess) and a couple of others called. It came back to me getting something like 26:1. I highly doubted the raiser had AA since he did not cap pre-flop and I put the other opponents on possible heart draws or pocket pairs which still left me with 2 pretty solid outs in the 7[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] and 7[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] so I went ahead, cursed myself for calling pre-flop and getting sucked in like a donkey and called. Lo and behold I spiked that 7[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] on the turn and managed to bet-3bet the turn 4-handed and got 2 callers on the river after the T[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] hit giving me a ginormous pot.

Our villain had A[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]K[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] but the real kicker here is that other caller on the river held the A[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]Q[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] . . . if he had raised the flop I would have been long gone - he still would have lost to the AK though so I'm not sure if he should have raised or not "knowing" he has to hit his Q to win.

Anyway, I was pretty sure my post-flop play was fine given the circumstances, but I really wanted to know if I had any business being there in the first place. It sounds like I was in a very marginal situation but probably made the right play. Thanks again to all contributors as always.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.