Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-19-2004, 01:15 PM

Default the merits of J 10 preflop

I am new to the game and still learning. In reading Abdul Jalib's "Hold'em Preflop Strategy According to Abdul," (at Posev), he essentially has no use for JT as hold cards. His continual remarks are "Fold. Dominated," and another one "Fold, unless you are a fish."

However, Lee Jones - who references Jalib's Posev in his book WLLH, likes JT, suited or not. "Either suited or unsuited, it has some unique properties: it makes the most possible straights, all the straights it makes are the nuts, and when you make a straight with it you often get lots of action."

As I am still learning and trying to learn as much as I can, I would love the board's insight. Thanks, Lebowski
Old 05-19-2004, 01:37 PM

Default Re: the merits of J 10 preflop

Good question. I'm not sure about the answer myself but I think I overvalue the hand as a result of the little write up it gets in WLLHE. Oh boy, it makes 4 straights and they're all the nuts, coooool. But then when you start playing it in LP you realize that those straights almost never come in and other than that its a VERY weak hand.

I'm getting very disillusioned with JTo. I hope others respond because its an interesting hand.

EDIT: Try posting this in some other forums for more responses. I think micro, general, and even poker theory would all be good places for this.
Old 05-19-2004, 01:49 PM

JTo is a pretty weak hand. Suited it's a little better, but except for being in LP after multiple limpers or in the blinds, it should be folded preflop most of the time.

The "unique characteristic" is, that if you use both cards to make a straight, it's always the nut straight and it makes more nut straights than any other hand.

That, in and of itself, does not make JT a good hand.
Old 05-19-2004, 03:54 PM