Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-24-2005, 12:44 AM

Default My contribution to all the \"turning pro\" posts. LONG

This topic is something that Ive been thinking about a lot lately, and since its something of a "hot topic" on the board I thought I'd post my thoughts... Here's my situation.

I'm in my early 20's, married, full-time job, all ready to settle down into the grind of daily life. [img]/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]

I work as a manager at a collections company. I manage a crew of 30+ collectors. I started in this buisness when I was just out of high school and have been there about 5 years. To be honest I have to attribute almost all of the success I have had financially (which isnt a whole lot, but more than most my age), to this company. I now have a wife, mortgage payments, and no college degree.
I've started to realize that I I'm not cut out for collections for the LONG haul. I'm good at it, but I find no prefessional or long term happiness in it. I grow more negative every passing year, and slowly see myself getting stuck in the same type of negative work until I retire.
Collections is a prety easy buisness to move up in, if you put in the time, and can deal with all the corporate BS thats involved. (Not to mention the utter crap I have to deal with from my employees, plus goals, deadlines...AHH!) In about 5 years time I could easily be pulling in about 60-70K, maxing out at about 100K (probably 15 years from now).
Where I live at this kind of money is awesome. The average salary here is 25-30K (what I make now) and the average house isnt much more than 65-80K. Its pretty cheap compared to anywehere else.