Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments

Old 12-28-2005, 01:09 AM

Default Sets vs. Continuous

What do most people here think is the correct way to STT?

I'm still learning so I've tried both. I don't have enough games to favor one or the other as I'm trying both, but the general consensus would be helpful.
Old 12-28-2005, 01:20 AM

Default Re: Sets vs. Continuous

There isn't any 'correct', it's just preference. Figure out which suits you better.
Old 12-28-2005, 01:23 AM

I use to play continous but I like the easily scheduled breaks. But if im on my laptop it doesnt matter cause I can just play while I go to the bath room of course.
Old 12-28-2005, 01:29 AM

I play in sets because I think late game is where you make the vast majority of your money and that allows me to concentrate.

Also I can take a leak after every set.
Old 12-28-2005, 01:35 AM

[ QUOTE ]
Also I can take a leak after every set.

[/ QUOTE ]

Bladder problems???

I played in sets until I was comfortable with it and recently have been playing continuously. Now I 6-table continuously, and am trying 8-tabling, but cannot handle this playing continuously yet. Maybe once I am pretty comfortable with 8 in sets I will try continuous again.

Playing continuously can add to your $/hr if it doesn't affect your ROI too much. You need to figure out which is better for you.
Old 12-28-2005, 01:36 AM

continues sucks. If a boss asked for the continues focus, no breaks, no life that playing continuous hour after hour requires, you'd quit, and/or do a [censored] job after a while. Why do to yourself what you wouldn't let "the man" do to you.
Old 12-28-2005, 01:42 AM

[ QUOTE ]
continues sucks. If a boss asked for the continues focus, no breaks, no life that playing continuous hour after hour requires, you'd quit, and/or do a [censored] job after a while. Why do to yourself what you wouldn't let "the man" do to you.

[/ QUOTE ]