Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-16-2003, 12:18 AM

Default Frustration with 3-6-12 - Move Up? - ?s about Clark\'s Thread

After another losing session at the Grand in Kinder playing 3-6-12, I am pretty frustrated with my game and with the game in general. I am pretty new to poker being that I was introduced to hold 'em about 2 years ago, but I didn't start trying to really learn hold 'em (by studying books, reading websites, etc.) until nearly a year ago. I am by far an expert, but when I play I can recognize my mistakes and the many mistakes of others (at least what I think are mistakes, and I may be wrong).

My results in "live" poker in the 3-6-12 structure are 129 hours, $286 up. This game is a $1, $3 blind game, 10% rake to max $4 with $1 jackpot drop. I realize that 129 hours is definitely not enough for an accurate statistical picture, but enough for me to realize that I am basically a break-even player at this 3-6-12 structure. My frustration comes from the fact that I have posted losing sessions for 7 of my last 8 sessions.

As I am playing, I am always the tightest player at the table (by far usually), and I am one of the only players at the table who will raise preflop with hands other than AA or KK. I do adjust when I raise according to position and # of players in the pot...for example, I don't raise with AQo in late position with 5-6 players already in, although I would raise with AQs in the same situation. I would raise AQo first in from early position to limit the field, although a preflop raise seems to attracts the gamblers to the pot because they know it will be a big pot.