Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > Multi-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-02-2003, 04:18 PM

Default How bad is my opponent\'s play here?

i'm new to tourney theory. i've played a few for fun but never had any real expectation on them.

this hand was the second hand of a PokerStars NL freeroll.

blinds are 10-20, everyone starts with T1500.

I get ATo in SB. LP limps. pot is T60.

me, BB and LP see flop of KQJ rainbow... i bet 60 here, BB folds, and LP goes all in (we are even). I have the nuts, so of course i go all in with him. he turns over KK and rivers a J to take me out of the tournament.

i'm glad i'm out early instead of late, but...

did i make a mistake? did my opponent?
Old 11-02-2003, 04:23 PM

Default Re: How bad is my opponent\'s play here?

Baggins,

you got the money in as a big favourite, he sucked out, so you alreasy know who made the better play. [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

Jeez, I hardly ever heard of a worse play with KK.

As you stated, it happend early in a freeroll, so there isnīt much to complain about.

Better luck next time.

Best regards

Martin Aigner
Old 11-02-2003, 04:47 PM

No offense, but sucking out with top set is hardly a bad play IMO. I think you both made the right play after the flop, obviously he got lucky and you didn't. Last time I checked, that was part of poker.

Old 11-02-2003, 05:25 PM

Stew,

no problem, I didnīt get it as an offense.

The reasons why this play with KKK is so bad are:

1) He made 2 actions with his KK: Preflop he forgot to raise, which I guess we agree is a mistake.