Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Psychology

Old 11-28-2005, 12:13 PM

Default What to do when you run bad???

Little background.....

I have been playing constantly 1/2 and 2/4 for about 8 months now and have consistently been winning and paying a couple of our household's bills with it. Along with being a little bonus whore it has been good.

I entered a tournament for $240 that was a live tournament and didn't cash, which was probably a mistake there cause that's such a huge amount of my roll. Anyways i went on a skid through the month of november and lost about 150-200BB during this month. Mostly on bad luck from what i can tell.

Anyways i put my last 100 for now in Pokerstars and am playing the .50/1 tables and still running into rediculous luck there as well and down to $40 and ready to quit all together.
The sample size on Stars is only about 2000K hands so i can't' tell anything off of a sample size that small.

Im sure alot of guys have had similar experiences with something like this..

Any suggestions or ideas for me to get back on track??
Old 11-28-2005, 12:45 PM

Default Re: What to do when you run bad???

When I run bad I play above my limits and lose 90% of my bankroll, then have to start over. No joke, it really sucks.
Old 11-28-2005, 12:51 PM

link

Krishan
Old 11-28-2005, 05:18 PM

Playing without adequate bankroll is definitely something to avoid - whether you're running good, bad, or average. If you're properly bankrolled for 2/4 it means your starting roll is at least $1200. Assuming you were there, then yeah - playing one live multi for 20 percent of your total roll was pretty bad.