Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

View Poll Results: What's your age?
<22 40 30.53%
22-26 33 25.19%
27-31 27 20.61%
32-37 15 11.45%
38-43 10 7.63%
43-50 2 1.53%
>50 4 3.05%
Voters: 131. You may not vote on this poll

Old 10-03-2004, 07:44 PM

Default Long term profitability, limit vs. NL, ring vs. tourney

Ok, I am a winning NLHE player at the $50 and $100 buy-in NLHE games, and at the $3/6 limit HE games. I beat the crap outta $20+2 SNGs and yet I seem to do very badly in large tournaments. I am fairly good at 7-stud, but haven't done enough reading. I am bad at tournaments partly because I haven't read any tournament books, plus I have very little experience and a small sample pool.

I have been challenged to turn $100 in my PokerStars account into $1,000 in about 2 months. What is the best game to do this?

Additionally, what game should I focus on if I want to be able to make the most money in the long run? This pertains only to online play. Any reccommended books? I consider myself a very good player, but I want to know how to maximize profit. Thanks
Old 10-03-2004, 09:02 PM

Default Re: Long term profitability, limit vs. NL, ring vs. tourney

I'm by no means an expert but am also trying to grow a fairly meager bankroll. If you play SNGs well then I would stick to them until you have a more substantial bankroll to work with. I find that for me the risk/reward ratio is much better on SNGs. I put up the SNG buyin and can win up to 5x that without chip swings affecting my bankroll. If you can beat 20+2s reguraly than you should be able to dominate a few 10+1s and give yourself some breathing room.
Old 10-03-2004, 09:03 PM

My vote, btw, is for limit ring games. Even though I think I'm a better NL player, I think the upper-tier online players make more playing limit than NL.

Time to read up on limit?
Old 10-03-2004, 09:10 PM