Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Mid-, High-Stakes Pot- and No-Limit Hold'em

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-02-2004, 04:22 PM
SlyAK SlyAK is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Plains
Posts: 117
Default QQ preflop, if raised before you?

Dumb quick question.... Decent player (a little loose... but not too much, and aggressive) raises 4x PF from EP... folded to you. You are in LP with QQ, do you call, or re-raise.. and why?

Sly
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-02-2004, 04:52 PM
Richie Rich Richie Rich is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 222
Default Re: QQ preflop, if raised before you?

Re-raise for more information, especially since you've got position. Unless you're up against a loose/maniac player, I usually respect such a raise from EP. At this point you're a big underdog to AA/KK, coin flip against AK, and tied with QQ. Would he have made this move with JJ/AQ? Possible, but not probable. When you add up all the possibilities, you're actually a slight underdog.

If he has KK/QQ, then your PF raise may make him fold if an A falls on the flop. He may even muck QQ on the flop unless a Q falls. You see where I'm going with this?... Take advantage of your position.

If he comes over the top, then you can safely say that he's probably got AA/KK and lay your ladies down. Is a lot cheaper to find out this way than to call him down (or go all-in) when the community cards are laid out.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-02-2004, 06:15 PM
richmhv richmhv is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 6
Default Re: QQ preflop, if raised before you?

I'd reraise and put him to the test, could be an Ax or a smaller pair. Only AA and KK are better now.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-02-2004, 06:24 PM
fnurt fnurt is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 292
Default Re: QQ preflop, if raised before you?

[ QUOTE ]
He may even muck QQ on the flop unless a Q falls.

[/ QUOTE ]

I think it would be a very interesting situation indeed if a Q came on the flop. [img]/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-02-2004, 07:15 PM
Richie Rich Richie Rich is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 222
Default Re: I know, I know...

Tried to edit...but it was too late [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-02-2004, 07:50 PM
cornell2005 cornell2005 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 168
Default Re: QQ preflop, if raised before you?

as usual i guess i agree with richie. reraise everytime in this situation, and even in some less perfect situations. not a min raise but nothign crazy either. its much less costly to raise here for information than to get it during the rest of the hand. remember, if he comes over the top, dont automatically fold, keep in mind set odds
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-02-2004, 10:23 PM
bunky9590 bunky9590 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 1,188
Default Re: QQ preflop, if raised before you?

Call. DO NOT RE RAISE!!!!

If he is aggressive, let him be. If he doesn't need AA or KK to make this play, let the flop come low, and put him to the test there. You can see a flop for 4x the BB, see it and play on from there. If the flop comes Ace or Kingless. You can put him to the test WITH POSITION!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-02-2004, 11:01 PM
Gremlin Gremlin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 13
Default Re: QQ preflop, if raised before you?

Raise, it's not even close. Ignore him ^
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-02-2004, 11:04 PM
1800GAMBLER 1800GAMBLER is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,828
Default Re: QQ preflop, if raised before you?

Call. Checkfold any flops with an A or K and just call your stack in on the flop.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-02-2004, 11:06 PM
Prevaricator Prevaricator is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 231
Default Re: QQ preflop, if raised before you?

I agree with bunky. In NL ring game, just call. In a tournament however, I'd probably move in under most circumstances.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.