Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-15-2005, 02:42 PM
johnnybeef johnnybeef is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: its whats for dinner
Posts: 878
Default River decision/am I committed?

This one is from a 22, and we are about 6 hands in. Im on the button with t700 and i look down to see 2 black aces. All fold to the hijack who open limps (has me covered). I make it 60 to play, the sb folds, the bb (has me covered) calls, as does the hijack.

Reads: Hijack is a calling station, and could be limping with any two here.

BB: hasn't played a hand yet.

flop (190) TcQdKc BB minbets t15, hijack calls, I call.

Turn (235) Jh BB minbets, hijack calls, I raise to 250, bb calls, hijack folds.

River (750) Td BB shoves. I have 350 behind.

Comments on all streets appreciated, I think that I played it perfectly on all streets, except perhaps the river, which I am still unsure if I am pot commited or not.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-15-2005, 02:48 PM
tigerite tigerite is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 360
Default Re: River decision/am I committed?

I would be raising the flop - too many draws out there and too much chance you already have the best hand anyway. Plus which it makes the shove on the turn much easier, then you don't have a difficult decision on the river.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-15-2005, 03:01 PM
johnnybeef johnnybeef is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: its whats for dinner
Posts: 878
Default Re: River decision/am I committed?

I totally disagree with this line. If I raise and he shoves, I have to fold a hand that has a ton of cards that could improve my equity here. Playing post flop is fun.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-15-2005, 03:01 PM
kevkev60614 kevkev60614 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 115
Default Re: River decision/am I committed?

Aye. Raise the flop. From what you are on the river, I think you have to call.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-15-2005, 03:06 PM
junkmail3 junkmail3 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 249
Default Re: River decision/am I committed?

Not calling puts him on exactly KK/QQ/JJ/TT/KT/QT/JT - 7 hands.

It's more than 2, but come on. Pot committed or not, you're playing a 22 with a stragith and you're thinking about folding ... ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-15-2005, 03:08 PM
Irieguy Irieguy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 340
Default Re: River decision/am I committed?

[ QUOTE ]
I totally disagree with this line. If I raise and he shoves, I have to fold a hand that has a ton of cards that could improve my equity here. Playing post flop is fun.

[/ QUOTE ]

You have 640 chips and the pot is 220 to you on the flop. There's no "playing post flop" here.

Just get it in on the flop. All other options are worse.

Irieguy
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-15-2005, 03:10 PM
wuwei wuwei is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: 3/20/77 winterland
Posts: 287
Default Re: River decision/am I committed?

[ QUOTE ]


You have 640 chips and the pot is 220 to you on the flop. There's no "playing post flop" here.

[/ QUOTE ]

Bingo.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-15-2005, 03:21 PM
Marc H Marc H is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
Default Re: River decision/am I committed?

[ QUOTE ]
You have 640 chips and the pot is 220 to you on the flop. There's no "playing post flop" here.

Just get it in on the flop. All other options are worse.

[/ QUOTE ]

Ditto.
And when your flop flat-call results in your losing all your chips to a club flush? That's Sklansky's "mathematical catastrophe" hitting you in the face.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-15-2005, 03:34 PM
johnnybeef johnnybeef is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: its whats for dinner
Posts: 878
Default Re: River decision/am I committed?

[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]
You have 640 chips and the pot is 220 to you on the flop. There's no "playing post flop" here.

Just get it in on the flop. All other options are worse.

[/ QUOTE ]

Ditto.
And when your flop flat-call results in your losing all your chips to a club flush? That's Sklansky's "mathematical catastrophe" hitting you in the face.

[/ QUOTE ]

I had the ace of clubs so this doesn't really apply here. Shoving the flop was never really a thought in my mind for some reason, even though, now it is totally the obvious play to me.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-15-2005, 03:36 PM
The Yugoslavian The Yugoslavian is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orange County
Posts: 130
Default Re: River decision/am I committed?

beefy,

In such short stack tournament play....shoving should *always* be something you consider.

Yugoslav
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.