Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Internet Gambling > Internet Gambling
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-27-2005, 12:08 PM

Default Will multitabling be useful to beginner?

What's better - playing several (2-3) tables and therefore faster get some experience under the belt, or play one table, but be able to pay more attention (but posibly become bored?)
Old 07-27-2005, 12:39 PM

Default Re: Will multitabling be useful to beginner?

When I started playing online, I only played one table. I quickly became bored of it and moved to 2, then 3, then 4. It's really a matter of personal preference/bankroll. If you have enough to sit at 4 tables and are relatively tight...it's probably not going to hurt. I'm typically only involved in one hand at a time, and a lot of time I sit there for 30 seconds waiting for one of the hands to finish because I folded on every table.

My advice is to try two tables. If it feels overwhelming at first, drop down...but it really shouldn't. If you're really trying to learn the game itself and not just get a feel for the software, etc...one might be better. I pay much more attention to peoples' behavior when I'm playing only one table. When I'm multitabling, I play more ABC.
Old 07-27-2005, 01:11 PM

I think it's horrible for a beginning player to play more than 2 tables. 1 is often best (unless, as you said, they get very bored. I often suggest 1 table even then.)

New players need experience reading the board. They need to watch others' play and think "What would I do in that position?"

When you start playing poker, your goal isn't to win as much money as possible; it's to get experience thinking about the game and watching hands. If you're multitabling, too often you miss the thinking and most of the hand.
-Sam
Old 07-27-2005, 01:19 PM