Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Poker > Stud
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-29-2005, 08:01 PM

Default Should I learn Stud?

Hi, im a young poker aficianado who has (sigh) really only played NLH and done decently well building a roll from scratch basically in 7 months.

Ive dabbled in Omaha and Omaha 80 B with decent results.

I really want to learn Stud and have flipped through the Chip Reese section of SSystem once. Tried my hand at the lowest limits and broke about even. Which is decent for a total beginner.

The problem is I dont have a good short term memory at all. My longer term memory is great though, in fact, it helps me while playing holdem and seeing situations but, I just dont think I could memorize all the cards that have been out etc etc...

How big a part of Stud is memory?

Should I bother to buy the Zee book and learn the game properly or am I wasting my time?
Old 03-29-2005, 09:47 PM

Default Re: Should I learn Stud?

Buy 7CSFAP and study up. Make sure to check out the loose games situation.
Old 03-29-2005, 09:47 PM

Hey Zaxx nice to see back. I have missed seeing your posts on MTT for the last few weeks. I too have become tired of Holdem and have recently branched out to Omaha8 (which at the low limts seems very easy to beat) and stud. I have read Zee's book and Roy West's. Both have been very helpful.

As for memory I am about to re-open a can of worms here in the Jurrasic technology section. Most of the stud players here have a background of B&amp;M cardplaying and rely on memory. If you have a slightly more modern/technological bent there are programs that help you track the dead cards. My biggest complaint is that there is no poker tracker or poker office for stud.
Old 03-30-2005, 12:08 AM

[ QUOTE ]
Hi, im a young poker aficianado who has (sigh) really only played NLH and done decently well building a roll from scratch basically in 7 months.