Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Shorthanded

Old 12-02-2005, 06:43 PM

Default I don\'t want to be average

I'll give my situation just to outline a scenario for this thread, but this doesn't apply to me specifically, and I think everyone can benefit from this discussion.

I've noticed since beginning my poker career, my game has gone through a couple different stages. I began reading 2+2 before I actually started playing limit hold'em online, so when I started playing I had some idea of what I was doing. I wasn't particularly good, and started playing around the 28/6 range for full ring. I basically just played my hand, and really didn't pay attention to who else was at the table.

Stage 2, I became somewhat of a regular in the micro forum. I had downloaded PT and GT+, and bought and read SSH. Very quickly my game started to improve immensely. I started to use reads in my play, became tighter and more aggressive. As I became more experienced, I got the SSH concepts down better, and basically played very ABC good poker at the low limits, which is good enough to kill those games.

I moved to 6-max play, but stayed in the micro forums. For my first 10K hands or so, I was too tight and not aggressive enough, playing a 20/12 style. I got myself to start reading and contributing to HUSH, and my game jumped by leaps and bounds again. I began to learn the importance of aggression, blind stealing (ex: I used to fold JTo on the button when folded to me), and blind defense. I became looser and more aggressive (currently 26/19). I learned all sorts of good new lines and plays to make in different situations.