Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Theory

Old 02-15-2005, 01:59 AM

Default Hold\'em variant whit weaker then weak field

Hi all.

I mostly post in the NL internet and Tourney forum so i'll introduce myself.

I'm a student and have been playing poker for over 3 years. I'm a big winner in my 25c/50c weekly live NL game and at 1/2 NL online. Also made some good scores in online tourneys

Now, there is this game where I have been invited. The guys are all total gamblers and refuse to read any poker books, saying they are crap (good start is'nt it! [img]/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]). The game is a 200$ buy-in NLHE game... or so they call it...

You see, on my very first hand, they called me a moron for folding pre-flop and not paying to see the 1st 3cards. I decided to play ULTRA loose not to upset them (about 60-70% of my hands) but it was'nt enought. after the 1st hour, they decided to change the 1/2 blinds to a 2$ ante. Also, they cap the max bet/raise to 20$.

So basically, the rules are:

Ante 2$ (preflop betting start left of the dealer)
Max bet/raise 20$
80% of pot are behing raised preflop for min 5$ or more
Everyone goes to the flop
There is always a show down!!!
River is often 4 handed or more

The problem is I'm getting over charged for seeing the flop whit suited connecters, Axs and small pairs. I know that if I hit those, I can get payed big time in many spot. However, paying 22$ to see a flop is a huge chuck of the max buy-in. And the 20$ max bet rule on all street makes chasing less interessting since it shrink the implied odds. The way the game is played, I could easyly beat it anyway whit a huge bankroll to absorb the high variance. But I don't have that kind of money right now. Well, not live [img]/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]

Can you guys help me come up whit a good way to beat this game?