Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > Multi-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-30-2005, 11:38 AM

Default Not just another question about \'going pro\'

I don't want to make another silly thread about going pro. I've done the search and read all the material on it. In looking through it, there is really only one question I didn't find answered. If anyone out there uses either poker or some other form of self employment as their primary source of income and also has a family, how do you handle replacing the 'benefits' you get from a 'real job'? Mainly what you do to replace insurance, cafeteria plans, 401k, etc.

I do apologize if this has been covered before, but I'm seriously contemplating quitting my 'real job' after March of next year once I get my yearly bonus and doing a combination of poker playing and freelance programming (I'm a software engineer) to pay the bills, but having a young child and planning to have another some time in the near future I'm a little worried about insurance and some of the other niceties that come from a 'real job'.

Thanks in advance, and if you'd rather discuss in PM please feel free to PM me.

-Rizen
Old 11-30-2005, 03:34 PM

Default Re: Not just another question about \'going pro\'

So let me get this straight you have one kid and want another one soon and you are willing to risk everything playing poker. To be blunt -you are nuts to put your family at risk to play a game. If you were a 20 year old kid with no responsibility then I would say knock yourself out BUT come on lets put a little thought into this.
Old 11-30-2005, 03:37 PM

Since you have no idea

1. How much he makes playing poker

2. How much he expects to make as a freelance software engineer

maybe you should you be less of a dick and let someone who knows the answers to his questions respond.
Old 11-30-2005, 03:45 PM

[ QUOTE ]
Since you have no idea