Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Shorthanded

Old 11-30-2005, 05:47 PM

Default New to 6-max and I have a few questions...

I've been playing full ring for a little while now, and I've decided to play some 6-max to see if I can make a better profit, so as a beginniner, I have a few questions about 6-max compared to full ring.

1. Should the blind be played the same as full ring? i.e. complete with 2 suited cards, etc...

2. Should you value middle pair fairly highly on the flop?

3. Basically, should you play more aggressively than in full ring? Like push with your overcards more?

So far I'm enjoying 6-max more than full ring, it seems to be faster paced and I seem to be able to outplay people more.
Old 11-30-2005, 06:01 PM

Default Re: New to 6-max and I have a few questions...

i am new to 6 max also
but i have found

#1 depends on table makeup
#2 depends on flop texture and how people are playing
#3 yes much more aggressive and I am less likely to lay down
2nd pair since people play crap and stay with it way too long.

last week had KK and flop comes an ace so I bet and guy calls.
turn is a blank I bet he raises now bells start to go off.
so i check the river and he flips over 75os he tried to bluff me out on the turn with nothing.

Now I am in no way saying I am good just that people play much more aggressive and at time very bad.

peace
wwonka
Old 11-30-2005, 06:01 PM

I think we're all learning, since there isn't a hell of a lot of published literature on 6-max.

SB strategy
Two junk suited cards (82s): If you're a beginner I would avoid playing these because you're not giving up much by folding. I still fold this crap, and stuff like J7o until I get better.

Consider playing mediocre junk suited cards (T6s) from SB when it's limped all around. You're getting 11:1 on your 1/2 bet.

Generally, speculative hands are lower in value and big cards and pocket pairs are higher.