Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > Multi-table Tournaments
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-11-2004, 10:13 PM

Default Weekly Big Tourneys - How do you get in?

I've started to play more and more of the MTT's. But so far have not journeyed into the bigger entry tourneys (The weekly supers on Party). Do many of you pay your way in, or play in through qualifiers? I played a few 1-table qualifiers for Super Sat 200k, and am sure I can qualify there in half the $$ I'd have to pay to get in, but is it worth the effort? Just interested in opinions. Thanks!

Nick
Old 06-11-2004, 10:36 PM

Default Re: Weekly Big Tourneys - How do you get in?

use the sats,re buy tourneys to play your first few if you cant stand a few hours work for the ticket,pay in.Ive only ever played big ones on UB not stars as I am new to stars,the most a $215 has ever cost me was $9.
Old 06-11-2004, 10:41 PM

Well I've only ever qualified once, I will just buy in as do the vast majority. Qualfiers are a waste of time IMO. More profitable to just play your normal games.
Old 06-11-2004, 11:09 PM

While it's usually better just to play normal games and blow the 215, the play is REALLY BAD in those qualifiers, so there is some nice overlay, plus you do get some experience.
Old 06-12-2004, 02:45 AM

Nick,
It depends on what is more important to you, your time or your $$$.
Like they other posters mentioned, getting in through a qualifier can be easy, but if you make more $$$ playing your regular game, it may be more profitable to just pay your way in.
Personally, I'll play in the SnG qualifiers as playing multiple SnG's is my regular session, so it fits with what I like and what I am good at.
So figure out what is most profitable (if $$ is your main motive) and do that.
regards,
woodguy
Old 06-12-2004, 08:43 AM

I go through the qualifiers every week... for two reasons:

1) Cheaper when I am successful (3 of 4 weeks I've qualified)