Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Shorthanded
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-13-2005, 10:11 PM

Default Sorry, another stats/running bad post

I'm sorry to post yet another stats thread. I've noticed people seem to be pretty charitable in these threads, though, and I'm doing a bit of soul searching at the moment.

I've been playing online seriously for about 6 months now. Always in the past 3/6 6 max on party. I've had a winrate at that level of around 1.6bb/100 over 100,000 hands.

Anyway, a couple of times I've moved up to 5/10, and every time I've been slaughtered. At the same time, though, I cannot convince myself that I'm being outplayed. For one thing, the jump from 3/6 to 5/10 is marginal, secondly, my opponents on 5/10 have pretty remarkably poor stats, and third, the beats just seem insane. I've moved up three times in the past, and every time these facts have struck me. But I don't want to convince myself it's just running bad if in fact I'm not cut out for it. I'm quite happy at 3/6, after all, but I would like to move up.

So, I was hoping I might get some responses as to whether my stats look okay. These are for a 200bb down swing that ran over an 8,000 hand stretch. I've never lost >2BB/100 over a session of this size before. Is it likely varience, or probably bad play on my part? If it is bad play, is it likely that I have failed to make some transition required for moving from 3/6 to 5/10?

I've also included some stats from the misc stats section in case that might give some indication of whether I'm running bad.

Cheers.

Old 11-13-2005, 10:32 PM

Default Re: Sorry, another stats/running bad post

Looks like you're running bad. Not uber bad, but poor. No reason to ignore the other problems, though.

First of all, you need to get a bigger sample size up. 8k doesn't really mean anything. But from what's here: