Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Poker > Other Poker Games
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-09-2003, 05:41 PM

Default O/8 hand -- wimpy fold?

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to O/8. On Sunday I was playing some 4/8 with a 1/2-kill. The game is relatively passive, with about 1/3 of the hands being raised pre-flop, 6-8 seeing the flop regardless.

I'm in the SB with Ac Kc Kd 2c. 5 limpers to me. I complete. BB checks.

<< Should I raise pre-flop with the hand from the SB? >>

Flop comes 8h 6d 3c (pot - 7 sb). I bet. 4 callers to CO. CO raises. I call. Everyone else calls.

Turn comes 3d [8h 6d 3c] (pot - 9 bb). I check. Checked around to CO. CO bets. I call. Everyone else calls.

<< I think I should have bet here, expecting CO to raise and trapping the field for 2 bets. >>

River comes 2h [3d 8h 6d 3c] (pot - 15 bb). This is an unfortunate card. I check. Everyone checks to CO, who bets. I fold. Everyone else folds.

Was this a weak fold?

<< With 4 people left to act behind me, I was very surprised that no-one called the river. How often are my kings good here? I can't believe it's 1 out of 8.>>

Thanks,
PP
Old 12-09-2003, 06:09 PM

Default Re: O/8 hand -- wimpy fold?

I probably would have raised before the flop but I can see not doing so to disguise your hand in the blind. But you have to 3 bet the flop here. With the nut low and Kings you want to limit the field and isolate the raiser. You played the hand as if you only have low cards. The raiser probably has A 2 as well. You isolate the raiser in this case. I would then bet the turn if it's heads up and find out if he's playing high or low. This makes the river a check and automatic call.
Old 12-09-2003, 07:19 PM

I started running some sims on this tonight (using poker probe) but I wasn't sure if I was doing it the right way so I aborted them.

The way I set it up is the following:

Hand 1: Ac Kc Kd 2c
Hand 2: As 2d X X