Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Tournament Poker > One-table Tournaments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2005, 09:30 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default $11: KK on the bubble


Seat 1: Hero (1,770)
Seat 5: irishbum80 (4,440)
Seat 7: Remoc61 (4,720)
Seat 8: pitstop1099 (2,570)
Hero posts the small blind of 100
irishbum80 posts the big blind of 200
The button is in seat #8
*** HOLE CARDS ***
Dealt to Hero [Kd Kc]
Remoc61 raises to 400
pitstop1099 folds
Hero raises to 800
irishbum80 folds
Remoc61 calls 400
*** FLOP *** [3s 5d Ac]

Should I have just pushed preflop?

Now I haven't pushed what should I do?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2005, 09:35 PM
HighestCard HighestCard is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Inbetween the 11\'s and 22\'s
Posts: 120
Default Re: $11: KK on the bubble

[ QUOTE ]
Should I have just pushed preflop?

[/ QUOTE ]

Yes.

[ QUOTE ]
Now I haven't pushed what should I do?

[/ QUOTE ]

Push

Honestly you messed up bad not pushing pre flop. You have too much of your stack sitting in this pot now, and you see underpairs enough here to make pushing correct.

HC
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-30-2005, 09:36 PM
proell proell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 48
Default Re: $11: KK on the bubble

[ QUOTE ]


Should I have just pushed preflop?

Now I haven't pushed what should I do?

[/ QUOTE ]

Yes.
You can't fold now with all that money in the pot and < 1000 chips.
But villian will also not fold an Ace to a push, so I think I check and let him bet. Just don't fold.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-30-2005, 09:37 PM
mpfree mpfree is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: T.O.
Posts: 4
Default Re: $11: KK on the bubble

I would push pf since you're commiting half your stack.
post flop...tough, i'm not sure, but I think you have to throw it all in there with the big pot.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-30-2005, 09:42 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: $11: KK on the bubble

I'd push preflop. I think you need to push with both your good and "bad" hands on the bubble in order to give your aggression some crediblity. Why suddenly get cute when you have a monster?

Post-flop is pretty tough. You can't checkraise him off his hand if he bets, in my opinion, because you don't have enough chips left to make him lay anything down. If you fold, you're down to, what, about $870?

Blech. I guess I just push and close my eyes. Don't know if you have much if any FE, though. Bad spot to be in.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-30-2005, 10:15 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: $11: KK on the bubble

[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]
Should I have just pushed preflop?

[/ QUOTE ]

Yes.

[ QUOTE ]
Now I haven't pushed what should I do?

[/ QUOTE ]

Push

Honestly you messed up bad not pushing pre flop. You have too much of your stack sitting in this pot now, and you see underpairs enough here to make pushing correct.

HC

[/ QUOTE ]

I don't even know why I did it. It has got to be the most retarded play I've ever made
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-30-2005, 10:33 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: $11: KK on the bubble



[ QUOTE ]


I don't even know why I did it. It has got to be the most retarded play I've ever made

[/ QUOTE ]

Wish I could say that. I've made plays that are exponentially more retarded.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-30-2005, 11:02 PM
Dr_Jeckyl_00 Dr_Jeckyl_00 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 222
Default Re: $11: KK on the bubble

how had you been playing the bubble prior to this hand? pushing or folding? If so, might want to push so they think you're trying to steal... you're short, you won't get a much better hand than this, there is t1800 in pot and he may not have an ace...

but I am playing horrible right now... so see what others say [img]/images/graemlins/crazy.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-30-2005, 11:12 PM
rvg72 rvg72 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 113
Default Re: $11: KK on the bubble

Definately should have pushed pre-flop but not pushing isn't the worst thing in the world although if you aren't going to push then a call would be better than a small re-raise.

A call potentially brings in the BB and, if the Ace doesn't land on the flop you could easily double up. With the Ace landing I think you need to go all-in on the flop against the one opponent and cross your fingers.

If the Ace doesn't land on the flop you come out of this hand very nicely with your pre flop raise to 800 and you don't post the hand and you feel much better about your play... but next time push [img]/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

rvg
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.