Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-29-2005, 05:45 AM

Default Poker discourages me from staying in college

Hey everyone,
I'm a college student at a big university. I have a problem staying motivated for college/classes/homework/studying/etc. I also don't like the thought of working 40 hrs/week doing bitchwork for a big company for a bitch boss. The money I make from poker highly discourages me from doing all the bitchwork of college. How do you fellow college students and alumni stay motivated?
Thanks,
An0nYm0u5
Old 10-29-2005, 07:06 AM

Default Re: Poker discourages me from staying in college

I love university, I love living with intelligent people my age, I love the stupid random stuff we do, I enjoy learning stuff and the intellectual stimulation of the work I do (even if I don't enjoy all the work all the time).

I basically just adore the way that college allows me to live right now and there's no way I'd change it for what I feel is the boring and depressing life of a poker pro even in the short term, though I'd be making much more cash.

Also there's all that stuff about the long term implications of poker vs getting a degree, poker and college not being mutually exclusive etc.
Old 10-29-2005, 10:50 AM

[ QUOTE ]
I love university, I love living with intelligent people my age, I love the stupid random stuff we do, I enjoy learning stuff and the intellectual stimulation of the work I do (even if I don't enjoy all the work all the time).

I basically just adore the way that college allows me to live right now and there's no way I'd change it for what I feel is the boring and depressing life of a poker pro even in the short term, though I'd be making much more cash.

Also there's all that stuff about the long term implications of poker vs getting a degree, poker and college not being mutually exclusive etc.

[/ QUOTE ]