Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Pot-, No-Limit Hold'em
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-06-2005, 01:26 PM

Default Getting money out of the pot

Alright, before I get yelled at I know I just started and I need to log thousands of hands for anything to even matter.

I just started playing 3 days ago on the $25 NL tables buying in with $6 and following Millers small stack theory. So far I'm down over $60, probably more just not sure.

I can say from a limit players prespective, I was not ready to lose so fast. In limit I have had a few downswings, but for the most part consistantly win. From my very early impressions of NL, I'm not sure that I can consistantly pull in a profit, especially since I am getting kicked around at $25NL!!!! Should I hack it out and try to get better at NL or should I focus on becoming a better limit player and moving up limits as I am consistantly beating the game right now?

Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Old 10-06-2005, 01:27 PM

Default Re: Getting money out of the pot

you buy in with 6$ and then push with any good hand you have??
Old 10-06-2005, 01:28 PM

we have no idea without you postin any relevant hands.

I think if you have the bankroll for 25s, you should continue playing 25s and do it with full stacks.
Old 10-06-2005, 01:32 PM

so pretty much u buy in wiht 6$ and youve lost 60$
so pretty much you've lost 10 coinflipS???
Old 10-06-2005, 01:32 PM

Well from reading GSIH... Ed suggest for beginers to buy in with a small stack of <= 25% of the max buy in, so that equates to $6.25. Then I follow his starting hand suggestions, which are ultra tight and when you get a hand your basically going all in on the flop. He says playing a large stack for a beginer is horrible and will only make things harder.
Old 10-06-2005, 01:33 PM

if you've been playing quite a bit of limit. 25s shouldn't be that hard for you.
Old 10-06-2005, 01:37 PM