Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Shorthanded

Old 12-01-2005, 08:27 AM

Default New to Short Handed... Am I Bad?

I just started playing some shorthanded after a long stint with full 5/10- 10/20. This hand stuck out to me, because I'm not sure if I need to be making these kind of plays or I am just spewing...

Reads: I have no read on BB, he'd been sitting for an orbit or so, and has played slightly loser than usual appr 40-45%

Party Poker 5/10 Hold'em (6 max, 5 handed) FTR converter on zerodivide.cx

Preflop: Hero is Button with A[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img], 7[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img].
<font color="#666666">2 folds</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises</font>, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, BB calls.

Flop: (4.40 SB) J[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img], 5[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img], 9[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">BB bets</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises</font>, <font color="#CC3333">BB 3-bets</font>, Hero calls.

Turn: (5.20 BB) 6[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
BB checks, Hero checks.

River: (5.20 BB) 2[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">BB bets</font>, Hero calls.

Final Pot: 7.20 BB
Old 12-01-2005, 08:33 AM

Default Re: New to Short Handed... Am I Bad?

This is an ugly hand [img]/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Preflop is fine,
Flop - Why are you raising(I've seen a few 2+2ers raise flops with ace high, whats that all about?)

His hand:
Looks like he's got a bit of the flop when he 3bets though, but checking the turn is strange.

Fold River
I dont think you're ace high is good so the river is a fold.

My line
I'd of probably called the flop, Seen what happend on the turn(Backdoorflush, Ace is probably clean, He may be bluffing/protecting his BB).