Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-09-2005, 04:34 AM

Default Starting off in micro limits

Bit of background before the question: I’ve been playing funny money for a few months and using it to get a feel for the game and practice working out odds for a draw, pot odds etc etc. Have read and re-read (and am still re-reading) Jones' Winning Low Limit. Play about 10 hours a week on Pacific. Just one table at a time and I’m so freaking tight it’s ridiculous. I don’t play poker so much as watch other people play…

Now I’m moving on to micro limits. Not sure which site yet (any suggestions will be most welcome), but nothing over 5c/10c games (and maybe even 1c/2c to get my feet wet).

I’ve read constantly that at micro limits every man and his dog is there for the flop and most of the table will run to the river as long as the dealer gave them two cards. As that is pretty much the way the funny money games are played, am I going to be (hopefully) just adjusting my game a little playing on the nickel and dime tables or (God forbid) starting my learning experience all over?

Thanks in advance.
Old 05-09-2005, 07:33 AM

Default Re: Starting off in micro limits

If you're a winning player with funny money, you should be fine at the micro-limits. Since it's useless to try to fold people out of a pot, it's all about making the best hand and getting value out of it.
Old 05-09-2005, 09:32 AM

Poker Stars is probably the best place to start building your micro LHE bankroll.

a) they have a gradual scale of limits going from 2c/4c, 5c/10c to 25c/50c

b) they do not rake any pot below $5. I believe this is the only site that does this (everyone else rakes micros starting at $1, if not earlier).

c) micro players are still loose on Poker Stars, but perhaps not insanely so. definitely a step up from play money.
Old 05-09-2005, 02:21 PM