Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Probability

Old 08-29-2005, 03:46 AM

Default Quads - Expected Abberation?

So, I've been playing on an online site (fairly popular one)... I haven't played on this particular in a long time. The last time I played on it, I noticed a TON of quads. I didn't think much of it, and I chalked it up to variance.

Well this weekend, I started playing on it again. I've played about 700 hands... and here's what I've seen.

Total of 11 SHOWN quads. And, 2 'quite possible' quads where there was no showdown. Basically, flop of 555 and TTT, and a bit of action.

Of the 11 shown quads, 2 of them were pocket pairs. One flopped quads, and the other was a set that improved to quads.

The reason I started counting was that I saw three quads in a stretch of about 30 hands.

Anyway, this feels totally wrong. And, I'm not one to accuse any site of having a screwy RNG. What do you think? Is it more likely that I am seeing some aberration that is expected or more likely that the RNG is not quite right?

-RMJ
Old 08-29-2005, 04:41 AM

Default An Update.

Played another 100 hands since my original post... and well, someone had quads with A5 on a board: 55xx5

-RMJ
Old 08-29-2005, 02:57 PM

Default Re: An Update.

My guess is you see more quads online, because lots of people stay in with weaker holdings to see what happens. The percentage of quads in a game where only 2 people see the flop would be much less than a Nofoldem style game. It does seem like the quads are running high on the variance spectrum at your tables recently, but that is to be expected sometimes.
Old 08-29-2005, 04:39 PM

Well, I play quite a few hands on a handful of sites. It is only this one site that I've ever seen the excessive quads.