Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-04-2005, 07:22 AM

Default Greek Life

Why do people Rush and Pledge Fraternities and Sororites...

It makes sense to me at bigger schools so that you can have a sense of comunity, but what about at smaller schools, ~4000 or fewer students??

i'd like to hear whatever you guys have to say on the topic so feel free to digress
Old 10-04-2005, 10:51 AM

Default Re: Greek Life

people like to feel like they belong, even if it's a small school to begin with. or maybe their only option was to buy their friends which is kind of what they are doing. but hey, i'm no expert.
Old 10-06-2005, 05:54 PM

Pulled this off one greek site, if you want more info, you can easily do a quick search yourself...

Why Go Greek? What's so special?

Greeks are leaders! Leaders on campus, leaders in business, communities, states, and other organizations. No matter how you look at it, Greeks just stand out!

Here are some interesting Greek Facts:

Since 1825, the founding of Greek-letter organizations, all but two U.S. Presidents were Greek.
All but two U.S. Vice-Presidents were Greek. (since 1825).
7 out of 10 people listed in Who's Who are Greek.
Both females elected to the U.S. Supreme Court were sorority members.
85% of the Fortune 500 executives are Greek.
Of the nation's 50 largest corporations, 43 are headed by Greeks.
63% of the U.S. President's Cabinet members since 1900 have been Greek.
Nationally, over 70% of Greeks graduate, while only 50% of non-Greeks graduate.
76% of U.S. Congressmen and Senators are Greek.
Less than 2% of an average college student's expenses go toward Greek membership dues.
Over 85% of the student leaders on some 730 campuses are members of a Greek-letter organization.
Since 1910, 40 of 47 Supreme Court Justices have been Greek. Three Canadian Prime Ministers have been Greek.