Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Internet Gambling > Internet Gambling
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-09-2005, 06:45 PM

Default Making the Move from 1/2

Making the Move from 1/2

I just made the move myself, and have settled into my new home at 2/4 quite well. I'm sure it's not always this easy, but looking back I wanted to offer everyone a bit of advice. Although I'm not an expert at poker, though beating the game as of now, I think that I have some good advice to offer.

I've had the bankroll for 2/4 for a few weeks now, and I've sat down at a 2/4 table once or twice, only to get down a bit, win 1 pot and be up a few dollars, and cash it out. The chip shock was my biggest issue. If you're playing at Party, I really honestly think that 1/2 and 2/4 play almost identically. If you have close to the bankroll for 2/4, I would take a shot at it. If you're a winning 1/2 player then you should have no trouble adjusting. The main points of difference are in aggression. You will see a BIT more aggression postflop, and on average ~5% more preflop raising than before. This just means your preflop leaks need to be plugged, that's all.

Another thing that I find in 2/4 versus 1/2 is that there are MANY more maniacs at the 2/4 level. Call me stupid, but there are MANY more bad players at 2/4 - But in a different way than the 1/2 players are bad. I find it quite easy to find a table with 1-3 players seeing over 75% of the flops. In 1/2 most of the bad players I encountered were those who were chasing with improper odds to complete their draws. Both of these situations prove to be valuable for you as a winning player, although in the former you can value bet the heck out of these maniacs and make a lot of money.