Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Books and Publications

Old 11-28-2005, 01:30 PM

Default My Amazon review of Kill Phil

"These guys have fleshed out David Sklansky's all-in or fold "system" from Tournament Poker for Advanced Players. And they have done it using concepts similar to those Dan Harrington wrote about in Harrington on Holdem 2 - (i.e., M, Q and zones) combined with position.

If you are new to NLHE tourneys, this is a good way to learn to play. If you aren't new but having trouble, this book will help get you back on the right track.

As for the book itself, there is quite a bit of filler material in the beginning that would only be of interest to complete beginners. But after that, the book is outstanding.

Kill Phil joins the Harrington books, David Sklansky's Tournament Poker for Advanced Players, Barry Greenstein's Ace on the River, Phil Gordon's Little Green Book and Howard Lederer's More Secrets of NLHE DVD as the best resources available on NLHE tourneys."

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0929712...ks&v=glance
Old 11-29-2005, 10:46 AM

Default Re: My Amazon review of Kill Phil

[ QUOTE ]
Kill Phil joins the Harrington books, David Sklansky's Tournament Poker for Advanced Players, Barry Greenstein's Ace on the River, Phil Gordon's Little Green Book and Howard Lederer's More Secrets of NLHE DVD as the best resources available on NLHE tourneys."

[/ QUOTE ]

You've got to be kidding me.
Old 11-29-2005, 11:50 AM

i don't think he's kidding.

mason himself said he had a lot of respect for these authors (forget their names) and that he was interested in checking this book out.
Old 11-29-2005, 12:52 PM

I am very interested in purchasing this book but will wait for Mason's review first. If Mason gives it a 7 or better, I am there.
Old 11-29-2005, 02:17 PM