Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > Other Poker > Omaha High

Old 12-08-2005, 02:06 PM

Default Rolf\'s CP Column and Starting Hand Requirements

In the current issue of CP, Rolf continues a 2 part series on starting hands in omaha, and gives advice on how to play them with various stack sizes. This judging your starting requirements by not just position and the table dynamics, but also by your stack size is very important.

But I am going to surprise many of you with some comments that are even tighter than Rolf. The hand he discusses, 9876 rainbow, and those like it, is a hand I routinely fold unless on the button or completing the small blind in an unraised pot. Same for AKJT rainbow (but I would open raise with this in late position). Now I know this seems incredibly tight, but I have played like this since I started playing plo years ago. And I even seem to recall in Rolf's columns in years past his playing the same way, though perhaps I am mistaken.

The reason I don't like those rainbow hands is that even when you flop a straight draw, there will often be another player drawing to make the same hand, and a flush draw which you also have or pick up on the turn when you hit a straight can give you a freeroll.

And when you don't flop a straight draw, you often can flop top 2 pair, but if you get raised with that top 2 you are either against a draw or the same hand or a set. And again, being able to hit a flush draw with that top 2 is often what will allow you to consider calling or even reraising when you get raised with such a hand, because if you are up against a set, however improbably it might seem with your holding top 2, then all you will have left usually is an 8 out straight draw. But add a flush draw to that and you can play the pot with more confidence when you add up the possibilities that you are actually currently ahead plus your drawing equity.