Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-05-2005, 02:21 PM

Default Becoming a Pilot

I'm halfway done college and nothing I've studied has blown me away yet, and I have no idea for a carreer. I've always loved flying so the idea of becoming a pilot seems pretty cool. Any pilots out there know the process toward becoming say a pilot or copilot for a sizable airline? I play poker for a living so I figured if anything I won't need to worry about a job while I'm training and could probably afford flight school (I think) once I'm done with college. Would it be feasible? Also, I have terrible vision and wear glasses, but once I turn 25 I'll definitely be getting LASIC - will this hold me back?
For qualifications sake I'll be graduating (hopefully) from a fairly prestigous american liberal arts college with a physics degree. Thanks,

-SmileyEH
Old 11-05-2005, 02:32 PM

Default Re: Becoming a Pilot

Good luck. Very difficult to break into right now. Used to just be ex-airforce, then a bunch of private training schools opened, and there is a huge glut of pilots in a pained industry. Check out what starting salaries are for people flying the regional jets, because you aren't going to start, or likely ever get, to a nice big 777 for United or SA.
Old 11-05-2005, 02:36 PM

[ QUOTE ]
Good luck. Very difficult to break into right now. Used to just be ex-airforce, then a bunch of private training schools opened, and there is a huge glut of pilots in a pained industry. Check out what starting salaries are for people flying the regional jets, because you aren't going to start, or likely ever get, to a nice big 777 for United or SA.

[/ QUOTE ]

[img]/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
Old 11-05-2005, 02:39 PM