Two Plus Two Older Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Older Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions

Old 10-20-2005, 10:51 PM

Default Good time for a break? and a bit about me

First a history of my poker career. I started playing about a year and 3 months ago learning from Play Poker Like the Pros by Phil Hellmuth (I know it stinks). I was up and down (usually down) and ended up blowing through about $300 dollars at the low limit tables (a bit more than that when you consider bonuses and such but that much of my money). I finally found Sklansky's book and started turning things around after a couple of months. (I am a fairly poor Graduate Student in physics with a wife and 2 kids by the way). Last February, I finally broke totally even in poker and cashed out feeling quite good about myself (and never having to come clean to my wife). I dipped back in with $50 after a few weeks off, and turned that into a few thousand dollars. I paid back all my poker book purchases to the family account (and the original $50 to get back in), paid for a weekend family trip, paid for my parking, and fees for the summer and fall out of my poker money and am right now at about $1000 bucks in my BR. I have played mostly .5/1 LHE with a fair amount of $25 and $50 NL HE, $25 and $50 PLO, $25 and $50 PLO8, 1/2 LHE, 2/4 LHE, .5/1 LO8, 1/2 stud, and vairous SnGs and MTTs ranging from $5 to $25 buy-ins (I have even played micro limit triple draw and crazy pineapple little). Thats me in a nutshell.